farm employee smiling for camera

Meet Paul, Seasonal Agricultural Worker from Jamaica

My name is Paul Sharrier and I’m from Central Clarington in Jamaica. I’m 41 years old and have been coming to this farm about seven years. The truth of the matter is that our economy is not as good as yours. So when we come here and go back, it allows us to earn a better living to help ourselves and our family back home. Even though it’s very difficult leaving our family for like seven months.

The first year was the most difficult one. It was the shortest but it felt like the longest. You’re not used to leaving your family for that long. It felt very long. After coming a few years you get used to it so now the time seems to go by quickly.

Since I was small, I saw people coming and going to Canada. It wasn’t one of my dreams to come here to work but now that I do, it’s a lot better back home. I’m a mason by profession so I build houses back home.

At home, I have my three kids. The boy is Paul – just like me. He turned 17 in April. The girl is Kyla and she turned 15 in November. The little one is Zanaya. She turned five on September 21. My wife is Cabefa. I can’t wait to be home with her. I’m not sure which flight I’m on but it’s about three weeks until I’m back home. I talk to my kids every night but I talk to my wife morning and evening – before I go to work and when I come home.

What do I like about Canada? The people are pleasant. That’s very nice. The country is very clean. It’s a nice place aside from the changes in the weather. I don’t like the climate changing on me all the time! It’s a nice place to be.